It’s Dead Week and I’m Going Bananas.

IMG_6858

My roommates are leaving me. Most of them, anyway. (Mel is staying, YAY!) I feel sad about that. I’m also stressed out because I have no stinking clue about how to do tables and figures for my biology class. In one short week, I will be DONE. But there is so much to do before that week.

IMG_6853

To DESTRESS and BLESS I made my music histoy peeps this cake. I thought the rhyme was clever. I’ll be real, it’s late and I’m tired, so I’ll just cut to the chase.

Banana Upside Down Cake

adapted from Averie Cooks

Yields 1 9-inch round cake

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter, melted

1/2 cup brown sugar

4 small bananas

1 cup all-purpose flour

3/4 cup granulated sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

pinch of salt

1 large egg

1/2 cup buttermilk

1/3 cup yogurt

3 tablespoons vegetable oil

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Coat a springform pan with non-stick spray. Melt the butter in the microwave and then coat on the pan. Make sure to run the butter around the side of the pan to ensure it’s greased. Next, evenly sprinkle the brown sugar over the butter. Slice the bananas horizontally and place them over the brown sugar such as in the picture.

In a large bowl combine flour, salt, baking powder, and granulated sugar. In a small bowl combine egg, buttermilk, yogurt, vegetable oil, and vanilla extract. Pour the wet mixture into the dry and make sure there are no flour pockets but do not overmix.  Pour the batter into the springform pan and bake for 38-40 minutes, or until the cake is golden brown. Make sure to let cake rest for 1 hour before trying to invert.

IMG_6857

The boys were like, “Why is there cake?” and I was thinking “Do we need an excuse?!” Then we watched Friday Arts, went to sushi, and played a long concert. Now I have a mountain of homework to conquer before Monday so peace, y’all.

Happy baking!

Liz

Leave a Reply

