Banana Mug Cake

Bandanas. Bananas. Bandanas. Bananas.

Today I made a mug cake and it was just a mug cake. Mug cakes are great, don’t get me wrong! But a mug cake will never suffice for a regular cake. But on lazy days I don’t feel like pulling out all the stops. Okay, the bigger reason is because I don’t have a ramekin yet so it’s also impossible for me to make a single breakfast cake. (Man I’m just really selling this to you well.) I present to you a banana mug cake.

ripe bananas

Banana Mug Cake

1/2 of banana, mashed

3 tablespoons of milk (any kind)

2 packets of Truvia

1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons of flour

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/8 teaspoon salt

Water, as needed

optional add ins, such as fruit, cinnamon, cocoa etc.

In a bowl mash the 1/2 banana. Add milk and 1 packet of truvia. Add flour, baking soda, salt and stir together. Add water very gradually to moisten.  Once the mixture is moist, sprinkle the top with remaining Truvia. Coat a mug with nonstick spray and pour mixture in. Microwave mixture for 60-90 seconds depending on the microwave.

This recipe is for the college kid part of me. The part that doesn’t have fancy ingredients or much time. Or maybe I’m just feeling lazy. Either way, it’s fast. It’s easy. It’s minimal. It’s good and it’s super customizable. I really like bananas only as much as the next person. . .I’m no banana fiend. It just so happens I’ve been featuring them on here because that’s what I happen to be making. Speaking of, I have 3 ripe bananas that really need to be baked. . .

Happy baking!

Liz

Leave a Reply

