Simple 5-Ingredient Energy Bar

I have a thing for energy bars. Lately I’ve been purchasing the Kashi granola bars (cranberry lemon wassup) but there’s usually an assortment of Larabars, Powerbars, and Clif bars in my pantry as well. When I have very little time as I hurry out the door to get to class in the mornings, I usually have an energy bar for breakfast. I can already feel the judgement stemming from your side of the computer screen. Yeah yeah, so Clif bars may not be as wholesome as say, Larabars. I have nothing to prove to the powerbar police.

However, when I have a little extra cash I love to indulge myself in some good nuts. Minimalist Baker has a fantastic 5-ingredient energy bar recipe that I am putting here for your viewing pleasure.

Energybars

5-Ingredient Granola Bars

Original recipe from Minimalist Baker

1 cup packed pitted dates

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup peanut butter

1 cup of roasted unsalted almonds, chopped

1 1/2 cups rolled oats

Process dates in a food processor until they form into small pieces, about one minute. Remove the dates from the food processor and place in a bowl with almonds and oats.

Warm honey and peanut butter in a n 8×8 baking pan over low heat. Pour oat mixture over the mix and stir. Press down on top of bars so they are even. Set in the fridge for at least an hour, or until firm. Once bars have set, remove from fridge and chop into 10 pieces.

There you go. It’s so flipping simple and so flipping good. The beauty about this recipe is it’s suuuuuuper customizable, so if you want to add chocolate chips, dried fruit, different nuts, whatever, you are free to!

Okay. It’s 1:41 am. Must make myself go brush my whites then hit the hay.

Happy baking!

Liz

Leave a Reply

