Banana Muffin Showdown pt. 2

So here come the second banana muffin recipe! I was working out in the gym a few weeks ago when I decided I really wanted to make banana muffins. I didn’t think I really had the time after my workout, but somehow these babes were whipped up just in time before I had to leave for a donut date. OMG they were good if you’re wondering!!

bananamuffinsdeb

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen. . .where it was jacked up and adapted from Elise’s friend Heidi’s friend Mrs. Hockmeyer

3-4 ripe bananas

1/3 cup melted unsalted butter

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 egg, beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1 1/2 cups flour

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Prepare muffin tin by greasing or adding liners. Mash bananas and then mix with melted butter. Add in the sugar, egg, vanilla, and nutmeg, mixing with each addition. Add the baking soda and salt. Lastly, add the flour and mix. Divide batter among the muffin tins filling each about 3/4 full. Bake for 17-22 minutes until tops are golden brown or until a toothpick comes out clean. After taking them out of the oven allow them to cool before removing from pan.

I liked these guys. If you’re wondering if I like the part 1 or part 2 recipe more, I like part 2 better. Both were lovely, but this recipe had a much stronger banana flavor. Just yum. The other recipe may have been shortchanged considering I only  used 2 bananas, but still. Boston preferred these muffins over the first ones as well. I realize there has been a strong banana presence in my blog. That should be the theme of February. I still have a very ripe little guy hanging out in the kitchen. Maybe I’ll make 1 or 2 muffins with that guy for a part 3?

Happy baking!

Liz

Leave a Reply

