Salted White Chocolate Oatmeal Crisps

So yeah. Ugh, that’s the worst way to start a blog post. Oh well, I already typed it. Can’t erase it or anything. . .

I’ve done a good amount of baking over the last week (yussss) and thought I’d share what I made. If you follow my baking instagram then maybe you’ve already seen it.

SaltedWhiteChoco2

Bear with me. I don’t know how to take pictures of food. I read a lot of blogs, but I all I have to work with is one hand holding an iPhone 5 with no knowledge of how to photograph.

I loved this recipe though. It was a nice contrast to the usual soft, thick, chewy chocolate chip cookie I usually make. This was much more crispy, but not too thin by any means. The salt had me begging for hydration and paired so well with the oatmeal and white chocolate. It had a deep, sultry flavor I was all about.

SaltedWhiteChoco

This gives me a new appreciation for the classics since it’s less traditional. Aaron had three and I was so flattered.

Original recipe from Smitten Kitchen

1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon table salt
14 tablespoons (1 3/4 sticks) unsalted butter, slightly softened
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats

6 ounces good-quality white chocolate bar, chopped*

Yields 32+ good sized cookies

1/2 teapoon flaky sea salt, for sprinkling

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium bowl.

2. Beat butter and sugars. Once light and fluffy, add egg and vanilla and mix until incorporated. Add dry ingredients and mix until combined and smooth. Scrape down sides of bowl and gradually add oats and white chocolate.

3. Take about 1-2 tablespoons of dough and shape into a ball with the palms of your hand. Continue to do this with the rest of the dough. My dough balls were around the size of 1.5 tablespoons. Place on cookie sheet and sprinkle sea salt on the top of each cookie. Bake for 13-16 minutes, or until golden brown.

*I used a Ghiradelli white chocolate baking bar because Deb writes she doesn’t believe most white chocolate chips being sold are actually white chocolate. I am also currently looking into the companies from which I buy my chocolate because many of the major brands maintain their production through some unethical practices that I do not want to support. To learn more about fair trade chocolate, click here.

If you don’t like white chocolate you could always try replacing it with milk chocolate or even toffee. Heck, go crazy and add some nuts or dried fruit. I think it’s great as is.

Happy baking,

Liz

Leave a Reply

