Getting to Know Me Part 1

It has been a good while in terms of blogging since I have made a post. I thought about this in the last week and pondered many different things I could have written about. I have so many thoughts running around in my head. Before I go on about whatever topic I feel strongly about at the time, I figure I’d write a couple Getting to Know Me posts. If you’re reading this, you’re probably Vanessa which means you know more about me than most people. That makes this post what, pointless? No, because there’s a chance you’re some reader in the far future lurking through my entries. Maybe you’ll find it interesting, maybe you’ve already stopped reading. Either way here we go:

Things I Dislike

1. Wind. It seriously makes everything worse. Oregon weather wouldn’t be nearly as painful for a Californian like me if there wasn’t a 15 degrees windchill drop. Knit scarves and my North Face jacket are gold to me.

2. Being over 700 miles away from Boston. I’m not talking Boston, Massachusetts here. (Although it does blow that MA is so far away, but that’s another story and another beloved person.) Long distance relationships are really, really hard. I’m thankful I get to be in Boston’s physical presence the majority of the year, but I am not looking forward to another summer apart.

3. Running out of butter when I’m trying to bake. Baking is a stress reliever to me and butter is often an essential part of recipes I make. A pack of butter only goes so far. Oh how I hate to adjust my plans to accommodate butter-less baking. It usually results in no cookies being made.

4. Tauriel and Kili’s relationship in The Hobbit. Why Pj. WHY. I don’t mind the creation of her character, I actually really like Tauriel on her own. But why does the added female have to automatically be portrayed as a love interest? Aside from that, Elves and dwarves would never have romantic relations.

5. My mom is so far away when I’m at school. Now this is what really sucks. This woman’s amazing. She shares my love of Mochi and romance novels. She also brings me Watsonville sourdough when she visits. I love this woman.

6. Fake nice bloggers. I read a lot of cookings blogs. I can usually tell when the author is acting overly friendly so she can make her readers feel special or something. There’s nothing wrong with a genuine desire to help people feel good, but when it’s not sincere it just doesn’t sit right with me. For example, when bloggers say, “You NEED this in your life!!” No, I actually don’t. If your recipe looks good enough maybe I’ll try it, and if it’s wonderful I’ll make it ten times over. But I don’t need anything you have to give me. Unless it’s Joy Wilson’s Brown Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies. Then yes, I need that in my life.

I also dislike many other things, like self-centered people, fleas, being barefoot on any floor that isn’t carpet, going over my WiFi data, running out of clean sports bras, crumbs, and how college is sucking me dry.

Side note: I don’t claim to be a writer nor do I strive for grammatical perfection. I’m just kind of writing for my own sake.

Well, now you know some of the things that push my buttons/make me sad/annoy me.

Until next time,

Liz

Leave a Reply

